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CHAPTER 4  BUSINESS REGULATIONS 
 

Article 1  Alcoholic Beverages 
 
SECTION 4-101:  DEFINITIONS 
 
All words and phrases herein used are to have the definitions applied thereto, as de-
fined in the Liquor Control Act of the State of Nebraska.  (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-103) 
 
SECTION 4-102:  ACQUISITION OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 
 
It shall be unlawful for any person to have possession of any alcoholic liquors which 
shall have been acquired otherwise than from a licensee duly licensed to sell same to 
such person under the provisions of the Nebraska Liquor Control Act, providing, (A) 
nothing herein shall prevent the possession of alcoholic liquor for the personal use of 
the possessor, his family and guests, as long as the quantity of alcoholic liquor trans-
ported, imported, brought, shipped or caused to be transported, imported, brought, or 
shipped into the state for personal use does not exceed one gallon at any one time or 
in excess of two gallons in any one calendar month; (B) nothing herein shall prevent 
the making of wine, cider or other alcoholic liquor by a person from fruits, vegetables 
or grains, or the product thereof, by simple fermentation and without distillation, if it is 
made solely for the use of the maker, his family and his guests; (C) nothing herein 
shall prevent any duly licensed practicing physician or dentist from possessing or us-
ing alcoholic liquor in the strict practice of his profession, or any hospital or institution 
caring for the sick and diseased persons, from possessing any alcoholic liquor for the 
treatment of bona fide patients of such hospital or other institution; (D) any drug store 
employing a licensed pharmacist may possess and use alcoholic liquors in the com-
pounding of prescriptions of duly licensed physicians; (E) the possession and dispen-
sation of wine by an authorized representative of any church for the purpose of con-
ducting any bona fide rite or religious ceremony conducted by such church shall not 
be prohibited by this section; (F) persons who are 16 years old or older may carry 
beer from grocery stores when they are accompanied by a person not a minor, per-
sons who are 16 years old or older may handle beer containers and beer in the 
course of their employment in grocery stores, and persons who are 16 years old or 
older may remove and dispose of alcoholic liquor containers for the convenience of 
their employer and customers in the course of their employment as waiters, waitress-
es, or busboys, by any restaurant, club, hotel, or similar organization; and (G) per-
sons who are 19 years old or older may serve or sell alcoholic liquor in the course of 
their employment. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-168.06)   

 
SECTION 4-103:  DRINKING AND POSSESSION OF ALCOHOLIC LIQUORS ON 

STREETS, IN PUBLIC PLACES OR ON PUBLIC PROPERTY; 
SPECIAL PERMITS 

 
A. It shall be unlawful for any person to drink alcoholic liquor of any kind or to 

have in his/her possession or upon his/her person any bottle or receptacle containing 



alcoholic liquors which is open or has been opened, or the seal of which has been 
broken, or the contents of which have been partially removed or consumed, while on 
the streets or alleys or upon property used or owned by the government of the United 
States, the State of Nebraska, or any governmental subdivision thereof, or in thea-
ters, dance halls or in any other place open to or frequented by the public within said 
village, unless such premises are licensed for such purposes by the State of Nebras-
ka or unless a special permit has been granted for the same by the Village Board.  
 

B. A restaurant holding a license to sell alcoholic liquor at retail for consump-
tion on the licensed premises may permit a customer to remove one unsealed bottle 
of wine for consumption off the premises as provided in Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-123.04. 
 

C. Upon application for a special permit for the consumption of alcoholic liquor 
on public streets or other public places, the Village Board may permit such consump-
tion on such terms and conditions as it may determine. For such permit to be issued, 
written application must be made to the village clerk and the same must be acted up-
on at a special or regular meeting of the Village Board. The terms and conditions for 
issuance of a special permit shall be set forth in the minutes of the meeting at which 
such application is considered.  
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-186) 

 
SECTION 4-104:  VILLAGE POWERS AND DUTIES 
 
The Village Board is authorized to regulate by ordinance not inconsistent with the 
provisions of the Nebraska Liquor Control Act, the business of all retail and bottle 
club licensees carried on within the corporate limits. The Village Board shall further 
have the power and duties in respect to licensed retailers of alcoholic beverages to 
cancel or revoke for cause retail or bottle club licenses to sell or dispense alcoholic 
liquors issued to persons for premises within its jurisdiction subject to the right of ap-
peal to the Commission; to enter or to authorize any law enforcement officer to enter 
at any time upon any premises licensed by the State of Nebraska to determine 
whether any of the provisions of the village ordinances or state laws are being violat-
ed; to receive signed complaints from any citizens within its jurisdiction that any of the 
village ordinances or state laws are being violated and to act upon such complaints in 
the manner herein provided; to cancel or revoke on its own motion any license if, up-
on the same notice and hearing as provided herein, it determines that the licensee 
has violated any of the provisions of the Nebraska Liquor Control Act or any valid and 
subsisting ordinance or regulation duly enacted relating to alcoholic liquors; and to 
collect for the benefit of the State and the Village all license fees and occupation tax-
es as prescribed by law.  (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-134)   

 
SECTION 4-105:  LICENSE REQUIRED 
 
It shall be unlawful for any person to manufacture for sale, sell, keep for sale, or to 
barter any alcoholic liquors within the Village unless said person shall have in full force 
and effect a license as provided by the Nebraska Liquor Control Act.  (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-

102) 



 
SECTION 4-106:  LOCATION RESTRICTIONS 
 
It shall be unlawful for any person or persons to own, maintain, manage, or hold open 
to the public any establishment for the purpose of selling at retail any alcoholic liquor 
within 150 feet of any church, school, hospital, or home for aged or indigent persons or 
veterans, their wives or children; provided, this prohibition shall not apply to any location 
within such distance when the said establishment has been licensed by the Nebraska 
Liquor Control Commission at least two years, and to hotels offering restaurant service, 
regularly organized clubs, or to restaurants where the selling of alcoholic liquors is not 
the principal business carried on, if the said hotel, club, or restaurant were licensed and in 
operation prior to May 24, 1935. No alcoholic liquor, other than beer, shall be sold for con-
sumption on the premises within 300 feet from the campus of any college within the Vil-
lage.  (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-177) 

 
SECTION 4-107:  LICENSEE REQUIREMENTS 
 
It shall be unlawful for any person or persons to own an establishment that sells at 
retail any alcoholic beverages unless said person is a resident of the county in which 
the premises is located; a person of good character and reputation; a citizen of the 
United States; a person who has never been convicted of a felony or any Class I 
misdemeanor pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Chapter 28, Article 3, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11, or 12, 
or any similar offense under prior criminal statute or in another state; a person who 
has never had a liquor license revoked for cause; a person whose premises, for 
which a license is sought, meets standards for fire safety as established by the state 
fire marshal; or a person who has not acquired a beneficial interest requirement in 
this section shall not apply to a person applying for an additional license for use in 
connection with the operation of a hotel containing at least 25 sleeping rooms, or 
where the request is limited to on premises sale of beer only in a restaurant.  (Neb. 

Rev. Stat. §53-124.03, 53-125)   
 

SECTION 4-108:  DISPLAY OF LICENSE  
 
Every licensee under the Nebraska Liquor Control Act shall cause his license to be 
framed and hung in plain public view in a conspicuous place on the licensed premis-
es. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-148) 
 
SECTION 4-109:  HOURS OF SALE 
 

A. For the purposes of this section, "on sale" shall be defined as alcoholic 
beverages sold at retail by the drink for consumption on the premises of the licensed 
establishment. "Off sale" shall be defined as alcoholic beverages sold at retail in the 
original container for consumption off the premises of the licensed establishment. 
 

B. It shall be unlawful for any licensed person(s) or their agents to sell any al-
coholic beverages within the Village except during the hours provided herein: 

 



HOURS OF SALE 

Alcoholic Liquors (except Beer and Wine) 

Monday through Saturday 

     Off Sale 6:00 A.M. to 1:00 A.M. 

     On Sale 6:00 A.M. to 1:00 A.M. 

Sunday 

     Off Sale 12:00 Noon to 1:00 A.M. 

     On Sale 12:00 Noon to 1:00 A.M. 

Beer and Wine 

Daily 

     Off Sale 6:00 A.M. to 1:00 A.M. 

     On Sale 6.00 A.M. to 1:00 A.M. 

 
C. Such limitations shall not apply after 12:00 Noon on Sunday to a licensee 

which is a nonprofit corporation holding a license pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. Section 
53-124(5) (C) & (H). 
 

D. No person or persons shall consume any alcoholic beverages on licensed 
premises for a period of time longer than 15 minutes after the time fixed herein for 
stopping the sale of alcoholic beverages on the said premises. 
 

E. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit licensed premises 
from being open for business on days and hours during which the sale or dispensing 
of alcoholic beverages is prohibited by this section.  
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-179)   

 
SECTION 4-110:  SANITARY CONDITIONS 
 
It shall be unlawful to open for public use any retail liquor establishment that is not in 
a clean and sanitary condition. Toilet facilities shall be adequate and convenient for 
customers and patrons and said licensed premises shall be subject to any health in-
spections the Village Board or the village police may make, or cause to be made. All 
applications for liquor licenses shall be viewed in part from the standpoint of the sani-
tary conditions, and a report concerning the said sanitary conditions shall be made at 
all hearings concerning the application for, or renewal of, a liquor license. (Neb. Rev. 

Stat. §53-118) 

 
SECTION 4-111:  OWNER OF PREMISES 
 
The owner of any premises used for the sale at retail of alcoholic beverages shall be 
deemed guilty of a violation of these laws to the same extent as the said licensee if 
the owner shall knowingly permit the licensee to use the said licensed premises in 
violation of any municipal code section or Nebraska statute.  (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-1,101) 

 
 
SECTION 4-112:  EMPLOYER 



 
The employer of any officer, director, manager, or employees working in a retail liq-
uor establishment shall be held to be liable and guilty of any act of omission or viola-
tion of any law or ordinance, and each such act or omission shall be deemed and 
held to be the act of the employer, and will be punishable in the same manner as if 
the said act or omission had been committed by him personally.  (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-

1,102) 
 
SECTION 4-113:  HIRING MINORS 
 
It shall be unlawful for any person to hire a minor regardless of sex under the age of 
19 years to serve or dispense alcoholic liquors, including beer, to said licensee's cus-
tomers. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-102) 
 
SECTION 4-114:  MINORS AND INCOMPETENTS 
 
It shall be unlawful for any person or persons to sell, or make a gift of, any alcoholic 
liquor, or to procure any such alcoholic liquor for any minor, or other person who is 
mentally, physically, or otherwise incompetent, whether due to natural disabilities or 
the prior consumption of alcoholic beverages.  (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-180) 
 
SECTION 4-115:  MINOR’S PRESENCE 
 
It shall be unlawful for any person or persons who own, manage, or lease an estab-
lishment selling alcoholic beverages at retail to allow any minor under the age of 18 
years to frequent or otherwise remain in the said establishment unless the said minor 
is accompanied by his parent or legal guardian, and unless said minor remains seat-
ed with, and under the immediate control of, the said parent or legal guardian. 
 
SECTION 4-116:  ACCESS TO DWELLINGS 
 
Except in the case of hotels and clubs no alcoholic liquor shall be sold at retail upon 
any premises which has any access which leads from such premises to any other portion 
of the same building used for dwelling or lodging purposes, and which is permitted to be 
used by the public. Nothing herein shall prevent any connection with such premises, 
and such other portion of the building which is used only by the licensee, his family, or 
personal guests.  (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-178) 
 
SECTION 4-117:  CREDIT SALES PROHIBITED; EXCEPTIONS 
 
No person shall sell or furnish alcoholic liquor at retail to any person on credit, on a 
passbook, on an order on a store, in exchange for any goods, wares, or merchan-
dise, or in payment for any services rendered, and if any person extends credit for 
any such purpose, the debt thereby attempted to be created shall not be recoverable 
at law. Nothing in this section shall prevent any club holding a Class C license from 
permitting checks or statements for alcoholic liquor to be signed by members or bona 
fide guests of members and charged to the account of such members or guests in 



accordance with the bylaws of such club, and nothing in this section shall prevent any 
hotel or restaurant holding a retail license from permitting checks or statements for 
liquor to be signed by regular guests residing at such hotel or eating at such restau-
rant and charged to the accounts of such guests. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-183) 

 
SECTION 4-118:  SPIKING BEER 
 
It shall be unlawful for any person or persons who own, manage, or lease any prem-
ises in which the sale of alcoholic beverages is licensed, to serve or offer for sale any 
beer to which there has been added any alcohol, or permit any person or persons to 
add alcohol to any beer on the licensed premises of such licensee.  (Neb. Rev. Stat. 

§53-174) 

 
SECTION 4-119:  ORIGINAL PACKAGE 
 
It shall be unlawful for any person or persons who own, manage, or lease any prem-
ises in which the sale of alcoholic beverages is licensed, to have in their possession 
for sale at retail any alcoholic liquor contained in casks, or other containers except in 
the original package. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the refilling of original 
packages of alcoholic liquor for strictly private use and not for resale.  (Neb. Rev. Stat. 

§53-184)  
 
SECTION 4-120:  GAMBLING 
 
Unless sanctioned by Nebraska law, no licensee in this village holding a license cov-
ering premises open to the public for the sale of intoxicating liquor or beer shall di-
rectly or indirectly permit gambling on or in the licensed premises; nor shall he/she 
permit the operation or possession of any pay-off gambling device, slot machine or 
punchboard, mechanical or otherwise, whether pay-off is in cash or merchandise, in, 
on or about the licensed premises.  
 
SECTION 4-121:  CONDUCT PROHIBITED ON LICENSED PREMISES 
 
No licensee in this village shall engage in, allow or suffer in or upon the licensed 
premises any disturbances, lewdness, immoral activities or displays, brawls or un-
necessary noise; or allow, permit or suffer the licensed premises to be used in such a 
manner as to create public censure or become a nuisance, public or private. 
 
SECTION 4-122:  INSPECTIONS 
 
It shall be the duty of the Village Board to cause frequent inspections to be made on 
the premises of all retail and bottle club licensees. If it is found that any such licensee 
is violating any provision of the Nebraska Liquor Control Act or regulations of the Ne-
braska Liquor Control Commission or is failing to observe in good faith the purposes 
of said Act, the license may be suspended, cancelled, revoked after the licensee has 
been given an opportunity to be heard by the Village Board. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-116.01) 

 



SECTION 4-123:  REVOCATION OF LICENSE 
 
The chairman and the Village Board shall, by resolution and subject to the right of 
appeal to the Liquor Control Commission, revoke the license of any licensee finally 
convicted of violating any provisions of this article. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-116.02) 

 
SECTION 4-124:  LIQUOR LICENSE RENEWAL 
 

A. Retail or bottle club licenses issued by the Commission and outstanding 
may be automatically renewed in the absence of a request by the Village Board to 
require the said licensee to issue an application for renewal. Any licensed retail or 
bottle club establishment located in an area which is annexed to the Village shall file 
a formal application for a license, and while such application is pending, the licensee 
shall be authorized to continue all license privileges pursuant to this article until the 
original license expires, is canceled, or revoked. If such license expires within 60 
days following the annexation date of such area, the license may be renewed by or-
der of the Commission for not more than one year.  
 

B. The village clerk, upon notice from the Commission, between January 10 
and January 30 of each year shall cause to be published one time in a legal newspa-
per in or of general circulation in the Village a notice in the form prescribed by law of 
the right of automatic renewal of each retail liquor and beer license within the Village; 
provided, Class C license renewal notices shall be published between the dates of 
July 10 and July 30 of each year. The village clerk shall then file with the Commission 
proof of publication of said notice on or before February 10 of each year or August 10 
of each year for Class C licenses. Upon the conclusion of any hearing required by 
this section, the Village Board may request a licensee to submit an application.     
 

NOTICE OF RENEWAL OF RETAIL LIQUOR LICENSE 
 

     Notice is hereby given that pursuant to Nebraska law, the liquor li-
cense may be automatically renewed for one year from May 1, 20___, 
(or August 10, 20___,) for the following retail liquor licensee, to-wit: 

 
(Name of Licensee) 

(Address of licensed premises) 
 

     Notice is hereby given that a written protest to the issuance of auto-
matic renewal of license may be filed by any resident of the Village of 
Firth on or before February 10, 20___, (or August 10, 20___,) in the of-
fice of the village clerk; that in the event protests are filed by three or 
more such persons, hearing will be had to determine whether continua-
tion of said license should be allowed. 

        (NAME) 
        (VILLAGE CLERK) 
 



C. The village clerk shall file or cause to be filed with the Nebraska Liquor 
Control Commission proof of publication of said notices on or before February 6 or 
August 6 of each year.  
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-135, 53-135.01) 
 
SECTION 4-125:  PROTESTS AGAINST RENEWAL 
 
In the event written protests are filed with the Village clerk by three or more residents 
of this Village against the automatic renewal of a license, the clerk shall present the 
same to the chairman and Village Board at their next meeting and they shall there-
upon, by resolution, direct the licensee to submit an application in the same manner 
as he/she would be required to do for an original license. The village police shall 
forthwith serve said resolution on said licensee by delivering to him/her personally a 
true and certified copy thereof.  Upon receipt by the village clerk from the Nebraska 
Liquor Control Commission of the notice and copy of application, the same procedure 
shall be followed as is provided for in the case of an application for an original li-
cense.  
 
SECTION 4-126:  CITIZEN COMPLAINTS 
 

A. Any five residents of the City shall have the right to file a complaint with the 
City Council stating that any retail or bottle club licensee subject to the jurisdiction of 
the City Council has been or is violating any provision of the Nebraska Liquor Control 
Act or the rules or regulations issued pursuant thereto. Such complaint shall be in 
writing in the form prescribed by the City Council and shall be signed and sworn by 
the parties complaining. The complaint shall state the particular provision, rule, or 
regulation believed to have been violated and the facts in detail upon which belief is 
based.  

 
B. If the City Council is satisfied that the complaint substantially charges a vio-

lation and that from the fact alleged there is reasonable cause for such belief, it shall 
set the matter for hearing within ten days from the date of the filing of the complaint 
and shall serve notice upon the licensee of the time and place of such hearing and of 
the particular charge in the complaint; provided, the complaint must in all cases be 
disposed of by the City Council within 30 days from the date the complaint was filed 
by resolution thereof. Said resolution shall be deemed the final order for purposes of 
appeal to the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission as provided by law. (Neb. Rev. Stat. 

§53-1,114) 

 
SECTION 4-127:  COMPLAINTS; PROCEDURE 
 

A. The village clerk shall supply the complaint forms prescribed herein and 
shall, on request, supply one to any resident of this village desirous of initiating a 
complaint against a liquor licensee. Any complaint duly executed on one of the afore-
said forms by five residents of this village and filed with the village clerk shall be pre-
sented by him/her to the chairman and Board at their next meeting. If the chairman 
and the Board are satisfied that the complaint substantially charges a violation and 



that from the facts alleged there is a reasonable cause for such belief they shall, by 
resolution, set the matter for hearing within ten days from the filing of the complaint. 
Said resolution shall state the time and place of said hearing and shall direct the vil-
lage police to serve the same on the licensee by delivering to him/her personally a 
true and certified copy thereof at least 72 hours prior to the time of hearing. Said res-
olution shall also state the section or sections of the Nebraska Liquor Control Act, the 
regulations prescribed by the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission or this code al-
leged to have been violated and the facts on which said allegations are based as 
stated in the complaint.  
 

B.  Present at said hearing shall be the village attorney and the licensee, who 
may be represented by counsel employed by him/her. The complainants shall be 
present and may be represented by counsel employed by them. Within 30 days from 
the date the complaint is filed, the chairman and the Board shall, by resolution, dis-
pose of the complaint, which resolution shall be deemed the final order for purposes 
of appeal to the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission.  
 
SECTION 4-128:  FORM FOR CITIZEN COMPLAINT 
 
The following form is hereby prescribed for the use of residents of this village desiring 
to complain to the chairman and the Board that any licensee is violating any provision 
of the Nebraska Liquor Control Act, regulations prescribed by the Nebraska Liquor 
Control Commission or any provision of this ordinance:  
 
 To the Chairman and Board of the Village of Firth, Nebraska. 
 

The undersigned respectfully state: 
 
 1.  That they are each residents of the Village of Firth, Nebraska. 
 
 2.  That they believe that ______________, the holder of a Class ___ license 
in the aforesaid village, has violated Section _________ of (check one or more) 
 
 _____ the Nebraska Liquor Control Act. 

_____ the regulations prescribed by the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission. 
 _____ the municipal code of the Village of Firth, Nebraska. 
 
 3.  That the aforesaid belief is based on the following facts, to-wit: 
 

 _____________________________________________________________ 
 
        ____________________________          ___________________________ 
         (Name)              (Name) 
        ____________________________          ___________________________ 
        (Name)              (Name) 

         ___________________________ 
                       (Name) 



STATE OF NEBRASKA   ) 
      ) ss. 
COUNTY OF LANCASTER ) 
 
 Subscribed in my presence and sworn to before me by ______________, 
_________________, _________________, _________________ and 
_________________ this _____ day of _____________, 20____. 
 
 My commission expires ______________________. 
 
       __________________________ 
       Notary Public  
(Neb. Rev. Stat. § 53-134.04) 

 
SECTION 4-129:  REMOVAL OF INTOXICATED PERSONS FROM PUBLIC OR 

QUASI-PUBLIC PROPERTY 
 
 A. Any law enforcement officer with the power to arrest for traffic violations 
may take a person who is intoxicated and, in the judgment of the officer, dangerous 
to himself, herself, or others or who is otherwise incapacitated, from any public or 
semi-public property. An officer removing an intoxicated person from public or quasi-
public property shall make a reasonable effort to take such person to his or her home 
or to any hospital, clinic, alcoholism center, or medical doctor as may be necessary to 
preserve life or to prevent injury. Such effort at placement shall be deemed reasona-
ble if the officer contacts those facilities or doctors who have previously represented 
a willingness to accept and treat such individuals and who regularly do accept such 
individuals.  If these measures are unsuccessful or are not feasible, the officer may 
then place such intoxicated person in civil protective custody, except that such custo-
dy shall be used only as long as is necessary to preserve life or to prevent injury and 
under no circumstances longer than 12 hours. The placement of such person in civil 
protective custody shall be recorded at the facility or jail at which he or she is deliv-
ered and communicated to his or her family or next of kin, if they can be located, or to 
such person designated by the person taken into civil protective custody. 
 
 B. The law enforcement officer who acts in compliance with this section shall 
be deemed to be acting in the course of his or her official duty and shall not be crimi-
nally or civilly liable for such actions. The taking of an individual into civil protective 
custody under this section shall not be considered an arrest. No entry or other record 
shall be made to indicate that the person has been arrested or charged with a crime.  
(Ord. No. 189, 11/5/79) 
 

C.  For purposes of this section, "public property" shall mean any public right-
of-way, street, highway, alley, park or other state, county or village-owned property; 
"quasi-public property" shall mean and include private or publicly owned property uti-
lized for proprietary or business uses which invites patronage by the public or which 
invites public ingress and egress.  
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §53-1,121) 



Article 2  Solicitors and Peddlers 
 
SECTION 4-201:  PERMIT REQUIRED 
 
It is in the best interests of village residents to prevent the sale of fraudulent, danger-
ous and unhealthy goods and services and to protect the public by maintaining rec-
ords of the products sold and the persons and companies responsible for such sales 
within the Village. It shall be unlawful for any solicitor or peddler directly or indirectly 
to sell, attempt to sell, solicit, or make solicitations on the streets, in any office or 
business building, or on any piece of ground, lot or parcel thereof by house-to-house 
canvass or in any other private or public place by telephone, person solicitation or in 
any other way in the Village unless such person, organization, society, association, or 
corporation shall have first obtained a permit as provided herein. 
 
SECTION 4-202:  APPLICATION; ISSUANCE OF PERMIT 
 
Before doing business within the Village, all peddlers and solicitors shall make appli-
cation to the village clerk and be issued a permit. The cost of said permit shall be set 
by ordinance and shall be on file at the office of the village clerk, available for public 
inspection during office hours. The application form shall contain all the necessary 
information and documentation required for the protection of the residents of the Vil-
lage. Any person granted a permit shall be subject to any fees, occupation, tax or 
other rules and regulations which the Village Board deems appropriate for the pur-
poses stated herein. Any permit so granted shall be subject to revocation for good 
and sufficient cause by the Village Board or village clerk.   
 
SECTION 4-203:  EXCEPTIONS 
 
Nothing herein shall be construed to require a permit for any person or persons sell-
ing produce raised within the county or at a local farmer's market, or to wholesale 
salespersons soliciting merchants directly, nor to fundraising solicitations for political 
subdivisions, non-profit or charitable organizations.   
 
SECTION 4-204:  HOURS 
 
It shall be unlawful to make calls as a solicitor or peddler to prospective customers 
before 9:00 A.M. or after 6:00 P.M. any day unless requested to do so by the pro-
spective customer. 
 





Article 3  Smoking Regulations 
 

SECTION 4-301:  SMOKING IN WORKPLACE OR PUBLIC PLACE; DEFINITIONS 
 
“Smoke” or “smoking” means the lighting of any cigarette, cigar, pipe, or other smok-
ing material or the possession of any lighted cigarette, cigar, pipe, or other smoking 
material, regardless of its composition. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §71-5727) 
 
SECTION 4-302:  SMOKING IN WORKPLACE OR PUBLIC PLACE; PROHIBITED 
 
After June 1, 2009, except as provided in Section 4-303 hereafter, it shall be unlawful 
for any person to smoke in a place of employment or any public place within the Vil-
lage. (Neb. Rev. Stat. §71-5729) 
 
SECTION 4-303:  SMOKING IN WORKPLACE OR PUBLIC PLACE; EXEMPTIONS 
 
The following are exempt from the provisions of this article: 
 

A.  Guestrooms and suites that are rented to guests and are designated as 
smoking rooms, except that not more than 20 percent of rooms rented to guests in an 
establishment may be designated as smoking rooms. All smoking rooms on the same 
floor shall be contiguous, and smoke from such rooms shall not infiltrate into areas 
where smoking is prohibited under the Nebraska Clean Indoor Air Act; 

 
B.  Indoor areas used in connection with a research study on the health effects 

of smoking conducted in a scientific or analytical laboratory under state or federal law 
or at a college or university approved by the Coordinating Commission for Postsec-
ondary Education; and 

 
 C.  Tobacco retail outlets. 

(Neb. Rev. Stat. §71-5730) 

 
SECTION 4-304:  SMOKING IN WORKPLACE OR PUBLIC PLACE; VIOLATION; 
           PENALTY 
 

A. A person who smokes in a place of employment or a public place in viola-
tion of the Nebraska Clean Indoor Air Act is guilty of a Class V misdemeanor for the 
first offense and a Class IV misdemeanor for the second and any subsequent offens-
es. A person charged with such offense may voluntarily participate, at his/her own 
expense, in a smoking cessation program approved by the Department of Health and 
Human Services, and such charge shall be dismissed upon successful completion of 
the program.  

 
B. A proprietor who fails, neglects, or refuses to perform a duty under the Ne-

braska Clean Indoor Air Act is guilty of a Class V misdemeanor for the first offense 
and a Class IV misdemeanor for the second and any subsequent offenses.  



 
C. Each day that a violation continues to exist shall constitute a separate and 

distinct violation.  
 
D. Every act or omission constituting a violation of the Nebraska Clean Indoor 

Air Act by an employee or agent of a proprietor is deemed to be the act or omission 
of such proprietor, and such proprietor shall be subject to the same penalty as if the 
act or omission had been committed by such proprietor.  
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §71-5733) 



Article 4  Penal Provision 
 

SECTION 4-401:  VIOLATION; PENALTY 
 
Any person, firm, association or corporation violating any of the provisions of the 
chapter herein for which no other penalty is imposed shall, upon conviction, be 
deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and fined in an amount of not more than $500.00.  
Each day's maintenance of a misdemeanor shall constitute a separate offense.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


